Top Songs of 2011: 40-31

This set of ten song mainly features badass intelligent women performing badass intelligent songs. Also, there are some boobs in this entry. Watch out!

40. “The Last Living Rose” – PJ Harvey

This is the first time that I’ve ever really been into PJ Harvey. I think I needed to appreciate Nick Cave a little more she finally grew on me. Let England Shake has been in my car CD player for about six months, which isn’t good, because I’m more likely to flip off strangers when I’m listening to it.

39. “Swimsuits” – The Cool Kids feat. Mayer Hawthorne

We really didn’t get enough Clipse / Justin Timberlake team-ups back in 2005, so I’m happy to get that fix where I can.

38. “Romance” – Wild Flag

Everyone told me to listen to this song, but I ignored them, because I’m the worst sometimes. In my defense, no one told me that Wild Flag had members of Sleater-Kinney. If I had known that, I would have been less awful. Also about this song: the drums.

37. “Dancin’ Ricky” – Drive-By Truckers

You had me at “hey Ricky, don’t let the diabetes get you.”

36. “The City” – Patrick Wolf

Saxophone Alert: 1
This is such a happy song, even though Patrick Wolf looks like the kid from We Need to Talk About Kevin. Also, he hair flips like a pro.

35. “Ice Cream” – Battles feat. Matias Aguayo

This song has got to be about grosser things than ice cream, but let’s all pretend it’s a nice happy song about dessert. Matias Aguayo is my new favorite name.

34. “Freak Out” – Tapes ‘n Tapes

My favorite sing-along song of the year, especially when Josh Grier sings “I’ll be the one you never know” right at the beginning.

33. “My Name is Emmett Till” – Emmylou Harris
http://music.yahoo.com/videos/EmmylouHarris/My-Name-is-Emmett-Till:-Ram-Country-Exclusive–221554047 
[Couldn’t find an embeddable link, damn.]
It’s almost unbelievable that this is an original song, but everything I’ve found tells me she wrote this. Between Emmylou Harris, Lucinda Williams and Abigail Washburn, it was a good year for country-folk female singers. Hard Bargain is one of my favorite albums of the year.

32. “Helena Beat” – Foster the People

Super catchy with a great beat, but what a horrible video.

31. “Limit To Your Love” – James Blake

Okay, maybe I just have a thing for slow piano? His voice is so great and sad, plus the snare and the vocal distortion is really great.

Leave a Reply

